The Code Review Web Development Podcast

The Code Review

A weekly web development podcast where two full-stack developers and IRL friends discuss code, culture, and surviving the fast paced software development industry.

Subscribe on Your Favorite Player

Software Learn Code Web Design JavaScript HTML & CSS Freelance
Recent Episodes

E22. Hybrid vs Native vs PWA, SEO, and Bad Marketing 💸

Premiered: Tuesday, July 16th 2019

We are back at it again and this week we are discussing the differences between Hybrid, Native and Progressive Web Apps for mobile development, technical SEO practices that are often neglected and examples of bad marketing. In this episode we reference some numbers about the 30% take from Apple and Google on the app stores, we talk about this a little bit in Episode 11 for those who are curious.

SEO research topics:

  1. Structured data
  2. Backlinks
  3. Canonical URL
  4. HTTP/2 + HTTPS
  5. Duplicate content
  6. Domain rating/url rating
  7. Disavowing links

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod  

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E22   Link to Episode

E21. Scaling, Company Compliance, and Lean Expenses

Premiered: Sunday, July 7th 2019

We are back with a follow up episode on running your own shop. We cover how and when to hire help, annual company compliance requirements and keeping your startup costs low. As with previous episodes, if you have questions, ask a local attorney or accountant to help you do things the correct way.

For our regular listeners, you may have noticed we did not record and publish an edition of NOWADAYS. We have decided to drop that format from our lineup. If you enjoyed NOWADAYS and would like us to bring it back, please let us know!

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E21   Link to Episode

E20. Leaving Your Job, Hobbies, and Complimentary Skills This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Friday, July 5th 2019

OUR 20th UPLOAD! How neat. Welcome back everyone, we are in the office talking about more mental health tips and what we do for fun. Thank you to one of our listeners for suggesting the first topic, we certainly hope something we said helps.

If you are interested in boulering, check out one of our favorite climbing YouTubers: https://www.youtube.com/user/magmidt88 

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E20   Link to Episode

E19. Nowadays: Cloudflare Outage, D-Wave Leap, and AI Driven Marketing Blogs

Premiered: Friday, June 28th 2019

NOWADAYS Cloudflare had a major outage and shifts the blame to Verizon, D-Wave Leap program allows developers 1 free minute of quantum computing time, and thismarketingblogdoesnotexist.com is a terrifying example of AI generated fake news.

Deeper insight to the Cloudflare outage (What is BGP?):  https://www.cloudflare.com/learning/security/glossary/what-is-bgp/ 

Get started with Quantum Computing here with D-Wave Leap:  https://www.dwavesys.com/take-leap 

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 


--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E19   Link to Episode

E18. Nowadays: Facebook's Libra, Magic Leap vs Nreal & Dishwashing Robots 🤖💸 This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Wednesday, June 19th 2019

NOWADAYS the world is still harping about the revolution of blockchain technology, intellectual property theft and over engineered robots that threaten job security. We talk about it all on this episode. + Dylan swears more than he usually does, viewer discretion is advised.

Learn more about Facebook Libra:  https://techcrunch.com/2019/06/18/facebook-libra/ 

What is a stable coin?:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stablecoin 

Interested in AR? Learn more from https://www.magicleap.com/ and  https://www.nreal.ai/

As always, subcribe and share! We need your support to continue producing content and to convice guests to hang out in our office for an hour. :)

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E18   Link to Episode

E17. Burnout, Resource Management, and Evergreen Content This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Wednesday, June 19th 2019

This week we talk about how to handle your personal resources like a company. This episode is all about your personal brand and how to curb burnout before it happens. We give tactical tips on better ways to manage your "internal departments", revelant stories from our past, and Dylan has a breakthrough.

Share your burnout stories with us and we would love to feature them in an upcoming episode we are working on!

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod  

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E17   Link to Episode

E16. Version Control, Modern Frameworks, and Testing

Premiered: Sunday, June 2nd 2019

We are back in the office this week and we are discussing a lot of "for beginner tips". What is version control, how do modern frameworks throw off beginner devs and testing your code. We discuss where you should be focusing your time and some common traps you can fall in surrounding these topics.

DVCS = Distributed Verison Control System, CVCS = Centralized Version Control System - learn the difference.

Some popular hosted version control platforms: Github, Bitbucket, Gitlab, Visual Studio Team Services (Now Azure Devops)

A fantastic article on Unit Testing with Mocha and Chai:  https://codeburst.io/javascript-unit-testing-using-mocha-and-chai-1d97d9f18e71 

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod  

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E16   Link to Episode

E15. Nowadays: Pixi v5 & 90,000 USB Cables - All On Fire 🔥

Premiered: Thursday, May 30th 2019

WELCOME BACK! This week in the office we have another edition of Nowadays. Pixi v5 is out with WebGL front and center of it's platform. In other news, Target recalls 90,000 USB cables for burning fingers.

Pixi v5:  https://www.pixijs.com/ 

Target USB Cable Model #: 080088261

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E15   Link to Episode

E14. 👹 Contractor Nightmare Stories Special This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Saturday, May 25th 2019

THIS WEEK we are back in the office talking about the worst case scenarios of contracting and what you can do to identify red flags and keep yourself out of trouble. We cover easy clients, uninterested clients, arbitration, NDA's, non-compete language and more so stay tuned!

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 

DISCLAIMER: We are not attorneys and this is not sufficient legal advise. Please seek help from a professional to structure your business and any contracts.

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E14   Link to Episode

E13. Nowadays: Google Passwords In Plain Text & Instagram Influencers EXPOSED 🍆 This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Wednesday, May 22nd 2019

This day on Nowadays it's a security shit show. Google saves GSuite passwords unhashed in a secured server for either 5 months or 14 years  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. We also talk about a data breach which left private contact information of Instagram influencers EXPOSED (sorry for the click bait). Tune in later this week for our full episode. Subscribe and double check your app's password management.

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod  

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E13   Link to Episode

E12. Measuring Performance, Infusionsoft API and Building a Portfolio

Premiered: Saturday, May 18th 2019

KPIs, APIs and FYIs this week in the office as we discuss the awkward nature of being measured as a developer, a new Node.js Infusionsoft REST API library developed by Dylan and building your GitHub portfolio. We give tips and examples of each topic and try like hell to illustrate how all three can be revelant to a dev at the same time.

What is a KPI:  https://www.klipfolio.com/resources/articles/what-is-a-key-performance-indicator 

Node Infusionsoft REST API SDK:  https://github.com/knowareco/infusionsoft-rest 

Midfix for Foundation 5:  https://github.com/dylantmarsh/foundation-midfix

Send us a link to your portfolio and we will spread the love and even feature some cool projects we find on future episodes.

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E12   Link to Episode

E11. Nowadays: Apple Antitrust Lawsuit & Netflix's Love of Python

Premiered: Wednesday, May 15th 2019

 We are back in the office and this week we are giving you a quick update on the Supreme Court decision to allow an antitrust lawsuit to proceed against Apple over appstore commissions and Netflix's love of Python. Opinions and facts on this edition of Nowadays and we hope you enjoy it. See you in a few days for our next full episode.

As always, subcribe and share! We need your support to continue producing content and to convice guests to hang out in our office for an hour. :)

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E11   Link to Episode

E10. Learning Code in 2019, College vs Self-Taught, and Networking

Premiered: Tuesday, May 14th 2019

WE ARE BACK and Dylan's sister Emily is joining us in the office this week because she is learning to code! We thought it would be a great opportuninty to discuss learning code in 2019 with someone who is just beginning the journey. We also explore the topic of going to college or learning solo and the importance of networking either way.

Brandon's Medium Article - Getting Started As A Self-Taught Developer:  https://medium.com/knoware/getting-started-as-a-self-taught-developer-4d5796fa5f7d

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E10   Link to Episode

E9. Nowadays: Electron 5 & Web Assembly Package Manager (WASM WAPM)

Premiered: Tuesday, May 14th 2019

We renamed our short segment to NOWADAYS! We are back in the office and this week we are giving you a quick update on Electron 5 and a new package manager for Web Assembly WAPM. We say WASM WAPM one too many times and break down some of the key notes of these two new releases.

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E9   Link to Episode

E8. IMO Vue, Azure Outage, and BBVA Fintech

Premiered: Saturday, May 4th 2019

Back with our full episode on our new twice a week schedule! This week we discuss our opinions on Vue.js, the May 2nd 2019 Microsoft Azure outage, the relatable pains of data/systems migration, and the Open Platform fintech API by BBVA.

Vue.js:  https://vuejs.org/ 

More information on the Azure outage:  https://www.zdnet.com/article/azure-global-outage-our-dns-update-mangled-domain-records-says-microsoft/ 

BBVA Open Platform:  https://bbvaopenplatform.com 

Cambr:  https://cambr.com/ 

StoneCastle:  https://stonecastle.com/ 

Q2:  https://www.q2ebanking.com/ 

Stripe Issuing:  https://stripe.com/issuing 

Plaid:  https://plaid.com/ 

 If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E8   Link to Episode

E7. Twosday: Facebook F8 & Vue 3

Premiered: Wednesday, May 1st 2019

It's Twosday! We are back in the office and this week we are doing things differently. The Code Review will now release episodes twice a week with a short news highlight episode on Tuesday and our full weekly episode on Friday. On our very first Twosday episode we discuss:

Facebook F8 conference

  • New Interface, less marketing
  • Instagram kills likes in Canada?
  • Facebook Dating - now breaking up even more couples
  • Circle icon... Finally...

Vue 3

  • Typescript support
  • Smaller/faster/better/stronger
  • Agnostic core - mobile support baby!

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

"Squeaky clean!" - Brandon Thimmesch

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E7   Link to Episode

E6. Staying Healthy, Contracting vs Salary, and Marketing Your App This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Wednesday, April 24th 2019

HAPPY EASTER! We are back in the office and this week we discuss how to stay healthy at your desk job, being a contractor vs a salaried employee, and marketing yourself/your app. Some hot tips in this episode involving tax benefits, specific tips to execute influencer marketing, and more so don't miss out. If everyone likes the format of this show in comparison to some of the other topics we have discussed so far, please let us know @codereviewpod on Facebook/Twitter/Instagram or email us at hello@thecodereviewpod.com

Intuit on S-Corp distributions

If you organize your business as an S-corporation, you can classify some of your income as salary and some as a distribution. You'll still be liable for self-employment taxes on the salary portion of your income, but you'll just pay ordinary income tax on the distribution portion. Depending on how you divide your income, you could save a substantial amount of self-employment taxes just by converting to an S-corporation.

 https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/small-business-taxes/how-an-s-corp-can-reduce-your-self-employment-taxes/L4abUcaRn 

Deeper dive into Influencer Marketing

 At its most basic, Influencer Marketing is like a hybrid of old and new marketing tools, taking the idea of the celebrity endorsement and placing it into a modern day content-driven marketing campaign. The main difference is that the results of the campaign are usually collaborations between brands and influencers. 

 https://influencermarketinghub.com/what-is-influencer-marketing/ 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E6   Link to Episode

E5. Live Coding Music, Lisp, and Cryptocurrency This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Wednesday, April 17th 2019

Welcome back everyone! This week we have Jason Dufair in the office, a senior developer for Purdue University and all around programming OG. We talk about live coding music (programming music in real-time for an audience), Lisp, and cryptocurrency.

Special thanks to Jason for being on the podcast and enlightening us on some seriously cool stuff. Warning: this episode will greatly expand your list of hobbies.

You can check out some of Jason's code on Github at https://github.com/jkdufair

Notes from Jason for our listeners:

Sam Aaron Ted talk about Sonic Pi: https://youtu.be/TK1mBqKvIyU

Andrew Sorensen: https://youtu.be/yY1FSsUV-8c

Beating the Averages (my red pill entry to lisp): http://www.paulgraham.com/avg.html

More specifically about lisp, also Paul graham: http://www.paulgraham.com/diff.html

SICP (the mit book on how to build lisp from the ground up): https://mitpress.mit.edu/sites/default/files/sicp/index.html

kazkylheku on reddit: If you know Lisp very well, you kind of have a key to any language. Python, Ruby and Java are just collections of awkward syntactic sugar to some mutilated subset of Lisp semantics.

Paul Graham: Lisp looks strange not so much because it has a strange syntax as because it has no syntax; you express programs directly in the parse trees that get built behind the scenes when other languages are parsed, and these trees are made of lists, which are Lisp data structures.

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E5   Link to Episode

E4. Interviews, Surviving The Dev Team, and Imposter Syndrome This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Tuesday, April 9th 2019

This week we have guest Chad Q. Brown in the office who is the President and Founder of Profile, a behavioral profiling company that specializes in workplace personalities. We talk about tips for dev intereviews that goes beyond the whiteboard, surviving the dev team as a newbie and imposter syndrome.

Special thanks to Chad for being on the podcast and we hope to have you back soon! If you liked this episode and would like to hear more guests like Chad, please reach out to us and let us know!

Learn more about Profile: http://profile.team/

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E4   Link to Episode

E3. Exploring Sass, Node_Modules, and Chrome Alternatives This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Wednesday, April 3rd 2019

This week we talk about a great way to supercharge your CSS workflow with Sass, wrapping your head around the mystery of node_modules, and alternative browsers for Chrome users.

App of the Week: https://tinypng.com/ (its just rad)

Special thanks to David G. for requesting the Sass topic. Follow him on Twitter @davygxyz

If you have a suggestion or a topic you would like to hear on the show email us at: hello@thecodereviewpod.com or check us out on social media @codereviewpod

LINKS:

Sass: https://sass-lang.com/ 

Brave: https://brave.com/ 

Vivaldi: https://vivaldi.com/ 

Ahrefs: https://ahrefs.com/ 

TinyPNG: https://tinypng.com/

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E3   Link to Episode

E2. Formatting Code, Admin Dashboards, and Node vs Rust This episode contains explicit language

Premiered: Thursday, March 28th 2019

This week on The Code Review, Brandon and Dylan discuss formatting code, admin dashboards, and Node vs Rust. As our first full episode we are very eager to hear feedback and suggestions for future episodes! Please reach out to us at hello@thecodereviewpod.com and remember to subscribe.

HumongouS:  https://www.humongous.io/ 

Apollo:  https://www.apollo.io/ 

Interested in learning more about Rust? We are too! Check it out here:  https://www.rust-lang.org/ 

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E2   Link to Episode

E1. Welcome to The Code Review

Premiered: Thursday, March 28th 2019

Welcome to The Code Review! We are launching our weekly podcast where we discuss web development, tech news and more over a few beers. Please subscribe to the podcast to catch the next episode and share it with your friends. It would mean the world to us. We hope you enjoy it!

--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/thecodereview/support

  Download E1   Link to Episode

The Code Review Web Development Podcast

E22. Hybrid vs Native vs PWA, SEO, and Bad Marketing 💸